Skip to content

Introducing the KILN Project Staff

October 26, 2009

The KILN Project Staff

Pictured from left:

Debra Pino: I am the Project Coordinator for the KILN program and a BC alumnus (CSOM ’08). I am enthusiastic about being part of a program that aims to reduce the health disparities existing in the current health care system. There is a strong need for culturally competent nurses to provide quality health care. I look forward to seeing the KILN Scholars become nurse leaders.

Allyssa Harris, RN, PhD, WHNP-BC: Hello! I’m the Public Health Nursing Workforce Coordinator for KILN and also a faculty member for the graduate Women’s Health NP program. There are numerous health problems affecting our communities and it is only through leadership in the public health workforce will these health issues be efficiently resolved. Nurses who are involved in community health are essential to address health disparities.

Judith Vessey, PhD, CRNP, MBA, FAAN: I am the Evaluator for the KILN program and the Lelia Holden Carroll Professor of Nursing at Boston College. As the evaluator, my job for KILN is to figure out how we can implement this program in the very best way possible. I am excited to work with the KILN Scholars in helping make their college experience the best it can be.

Donna Cullinan, MS, RN, FNP-BC: I am the Mentoring Coordinator for the KILN program and an Associate Clinical Professor at the Connell School of Nursing at Boston College. I am a Community Health Nurse involved in many aspects and levels of teaching in the nursing program but feel that my greatest contribution is mentoring students. I am privileged to work with the KILN scholars as these future nurses leaders help to reduce health disparities.

Cathy Read, PhD, RN: I am the Project Director for the KILN program and the Associate Dean for the Undergraduate Nursing Program at Boston College. My passion is watching incoming freshmen be transformed into professional nurses, and I am grateful for this opportunity to work specifically with the KILN Scholars. They are the future of nursing and our hope for quality health care for all.

Angela Amar, PhD, APRN, BC: I am the Summer Immersion Program Coordinator and an Assistant Professor of Nursing at Boston College. I am involved in activities on campus that support student formation. The KILN program presents an exciting opportunity to work with our future nursing leaders.

Holly Lopes: I am a senior in the Connell School of Nursing and the Undergraduate Research Fellow for the KILN program. I have great interest in working to rectify healthcare disparities and believe the primary step is increasing nursing workforce diversity. I am excited to be part of the development of such a valuable program.

Michele Mendes, PhD, RN: I am the KILN Program Pre-Entry Outreach Coordinator and an Assistant Professor in the Connell School of Nursing. My goal is to plan outreach activities to acquaint High School Students with the nursing school and the KILN program, as well as to recruit students who will be successful KILN Scholars.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

