Skip to content

KILN Scholars, Tutors, and Project Staff Celebrate Holiday Season

December 21, 2009

On December 9th, 2009,  KILN scholars (classes of 2012 and 2013) along with Tutors and Project Staff celebrated the holiday season. Everyone shared ways of celebrating different holidays and enjoyed a delicious meal.  It was a great way for everyone to learn about each other. Faculty member and KILN Mentoring Coordinator, Donna Cullinan, shared her holiday tradition of dressing up as Santa Claus and delivering gifts. Enjoy the photos!

Happy Holidays!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 4:41 am

    For the holidays my family and I do not do anything out of the ordinary. Usually we have a Christmas party on Christmas Eve. The party consists of various Haitian dishes, extended family, friends, and lots of gift exchanging. Christmas day is often pretty quiet since everyone celebrated the night before. My direct family and I either work or spend time around the house enjoying each other’s company. New Year is very special to my family and me. January 1st is the same day my country, Haiti, won its independence. My family and I celebrate Haiti’s Independence Day and New Year by having another party that consists of “Soup Joumu,” a squash soup. The significance of this soup is that the Haitian slaves were not allowed to drink this soup because only people of a higher socio-economic class (i.e. the slave owners) could drink it. When the Haitian slaves won their independence from France they celebrated by drinking this squash soup. Today, many Haitians everywhere celebrate the country’s independence by drinking “Soup Joumu.”

  2. hectortrilleras permalink
    December 29, 2009 8:25 pm

    My family celebrates Christmas similar to other Latinos. On December 24th, we all attend a family member’s house for what is called “Noche Buena” or Good Night. Every family brings a plate so there is plenty of food for all the people attending. At midnight we all open our presents and spend the rest of the night eating and celebrating the holiday.

  3. January 13, 2010 5:18 am

    We talked about the traditions our family had at our last meeting and it got me thinking about how glad I am for the little traditions my family has. We generally follow a similar pattern every Christmas, from food and drinks served to the customary attendance of the Christmas Eve service at our church. But this year, I was grateful for more than just the constants of the holiday season. With the drastic adjustment to college life (independence, responsibility, accountability, and the like) I was so happy to come back to the familiar and the traditional. It was comforting and relaxing to wake up on December 25th and know that regardless of the changes I’ve experienced, the day would go exactly as I’d always remembered. We’d have “stollen” (a marzipan bread with icing) and fruit salad for breakfast, and spend the day playing games and enjoying each others’ company. Nothing we do is particularly out of the ordinary, but in a way, that was the best part. From Christmas Eve to New Year’s Day, my family and I spent lots of quality time together–we’re all very close–and coming back from a school 14 hours away, it was exactly what I needed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

