Skip to content

NPACE Conference

April 18, 2014
by
KILN Scholar Nina Wujech at NPACE confernece

KILN Scholar Nina Wujech at NPACE conference

I want to sincerely thank the Price Family Foundation and KILN for their vision to inspire students to be leaders through active engagement in professional activities including conferences. Seeing is definitely believing!

When I first sought out possible conferences to attend, my goal was to find a conference that would give me more insight on what it really means to be a nurse practitioner (NP). The Nurse Practitioner Associates for Continuing Education (NPACE) was definitely the right pick.

The conference began right away early Sunday morning with a cardiac assessment workshop which was both innovative and inspiring. Mary Macklin, APRN was a true expert on the topic and through challenging primary care case studies, heart sound audios and Power Point lectures, she made the topic plausible. It was a real honor to learn from her.  Monday began with a keynote address by Barbara Saffriet, JD, FAANP, whose work on the Institute of Medicine report I had cited in my graduate papers, and a woman I have really come to admire. She did a great job on educating NPs about the importance of knowing their history, identifying the arguments for autonomy and taking those arguments to legislators with the overwhelming evidence of safe, efficient and cost-effective patient care provided by NPs.

Later that Monday and early Tuesday, I attended every single presentation on topics ranging from women’s health Issues, STIs, asthma, preoperative care by the PCP, new updates in diabetes etc. These reinforced my learning and I felt proud to be at BC where my Advanced Pharmacology and Health Assessment lectures have measured up with the most current literature and evidence available. I also appreciated the passion and expertise of the presenters whom I aspire to be like someday. Also, I was able to network with practicing NPs and NP students from all over the country and left the conference feeling fulfilled. I now have a better understanding of the depth of being a professional NP.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

