As a student at Boston College, Sabianca Delva (’11) began her path as a nurse leader by serving as President of the Massachusetts Student Nurses Association. Soon after graduation, while working full-time as an RN at Massachusetts General Hospital, Sabianca was elected secretary of the American Nurses Association Massachusetts. In September of 2015, she began the next step of her journey when she enrolled in the PhD program in Nursing at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD.

On behalf of the KILN community, we would like to congratulate Sabianca and thank her for sharing some recent updates:

Sabianca
Sabianca with her award-winning poster at the 2016 CDC Public Health Ethics Forum

Greetings KILN community! Nearly five years have passed since I left BC with a strong foundation in leadership, scholarship, and service. I am committed to further developing these skills as a nurse scientist through the opportunities here at Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, where I have been engaged in several professionally fulfilling activities. I serve as the Publicity and Newsletter Chair for the Nu Beta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), as a member of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee and recently elected VP/President-Elect of the Doctoral Student Organization, and as a student on the committee of the Johns Hopkins Medicine Community Research Advisory Board. Last fall, I started my research residency with Dr. Hae-Ra Han, conducting research to eliminate disparities in cardiovascular health within the Latino populace of Baltimore. I have been fortunate to have three abstracts accepted for poster presentations related to this study; most recently, I presented at the 2016 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Public Health Ethics Forum in Atlanta, Georgia. I will presenting my next abstract at the 27th STTI International Congress in Cape Town, South Africa in July 2016. I owe a debt of gratitude to the KILN program, where I had many opportunities that put me on the right path starting as an undergraduate.

 

