On November 30, 2016, Loretta Sweet Jemmott, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, inspired students, alumni, faculty, and guests with her Pinnacle lecture entitled:

“Being an Effective Nursing Leader: Building on Your Inner Strengths”

Dr. Sweet Jemmott is the Vice President for Health and Health Equity and a professor in the College of Nursing and Health Professions at Drexel University. As one of the country’s foremost researchers in the field of HIV/AIDS, STD, and pregnancy prevention, Dr. Sweet

group-sweet
CSON students with Dr. Loretta Sweet Jemmott (center front)

Jemmott is an expert in health promotion research and a nationally recognized leader in understanding and reducing risk-related behaviors. For many KILN students, the additional opportunity to have lunch with Dr. Sweet Jemmott and discuss their own journeys toward becoming effective leaders was a very memorable experience. KILN students shared their reflections on the day:

“Dr. Sweet Jemmott conveyed a sense of optimism and productive positivity. She reminded me that being an effective leader goes beyond typical definitions like timeliness, intelligence, and looking ahead to advance your career; more importantly, leadership requires perseverance and persistence. As she told us, ‘No never means no. No means maybe.’” – Minhyeung Kim (BS ’18)

“Dr. Sweet Jemmott always asks herself ‘So what?’ I have come to realize that the purpose of my endeavors should not be confined to my own personal gain. In every turn, I need to ask myself ‘how can I give back to the community?’ Once I graduate, I want to fight and advocate for a cause that stirs my heart.” – Esther Chung (BS ’17)

“Dr. Sweet Jemmott gave me a very positive outlook on my future. She encouraged us to experiment with our interests and never give up. Her story inspired me to think about the problems prevalent in my own community and consider how I might work toward positive change in rural Maine.” – Kathryn Davie (BS ’19)

“Dr. Sweet Jemmott overcame obstacles throughout her academic career by persistently pursuing her passions through hard work and ‘gumption.’ She was an incredibly engaging and inspiring speaker who reinforced the importance of taking charge of one’s own life, finding passion in one’s work, and never taking ‘no’ for an answer.” – Maggie Steinmann (MS ’18)

“Dr. Sweet Jemmott’s lecture made me reflect on my reasons for applying to graduate school. Her exuberance about her research made me realize that I want to embody certainty and passion about what I study…it is important that I connect my research to my story and relate it to my purpose.” – Chiamaka Okorie (BS ’17)

