As a terrified freshman entering CSON, I had absolutely no idea on how to manage my Kyo Young Jeong.jpgacademics. Nursing is a field I was never familiarwith, as none of my family members or friends were nurses. Freshman year as a nursing student was overwhelming for sure. I had so many questions and concerns but no one to turn to for advice or encouragement. When I received an email regarding BC’s Keys to Inclusive Leadership in Nursing program, I applied, still very uncertain about what kind of campus organization it was and what it could provide for me.

KILN has definitely changed my outlook on nursing and has allowed me to be a part of a close-knit community. Through KILN, I was able to meet my supportive upperclassman mentor. She is someone who I was immediately able to have truly honest conversations with. She gave me tips on how to study well for certain nursing classes, and how to handle any competition or tension when among my CSON classmates. As my mentor, she always
encouraged me, and lifted away any doubts I had regarding my abilities to keep up in the rigorous life of a nursing student.

As a whole, KILN has given me the opportunity to meet CSON faculty and nursing students of all years. I had the chance to be a part of group discussions on sensitive or serious issues in the field, such as proper care, or how important the diversity of the patient demographic is to nursing. Being a member of KILN made me realize just how much responsibility nurses carry in their everyday lives. Not only must they think critically in terms of nursing’s evidence-based care, but they must also be able to carry out appropriate interactions with other hospital personnel, patients, and families. Though I was initially a terrified freshman, I am so relieved to say that I was able to find a place for myself in the KILN community.

– By Kyo Young Jeong, ’20

Boston College is unlike any other college. It is competitive, it’s rigorous, and at times, it’s dlG6zl2F8rGnulG5somewhere I wish I could escape from. Yet at the same time, my time spent here at Boston College has been the most rewarding year of my life. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, and I’ve spent way too many nights studying instead of sleeping. However, no matter how hard the struggle, I’ve seen myself grown so much. When I come home, I know I’m coming back as someone who is preparing to take the world by storm.

One of those things that have helped me grow at my time at Boston College has been the Keys to Inclusive Leadership in Nursing program. At first, I joined because I thought, “Why not? It’s a nursing program, maybe it’ll be beneficial to your career.” I was beyond surprised when I found out that I was accepted into the program. My mind shifted from “this is just a program” to “this is my chance to get informed and to increase diversity within the nursing profession.” Of course, the stipend from the program was a big help in things such as purchasing my school books, but this program has become so much more than just a stipend to me.

The things I’ve learned through KILN have been life changing. I not only feel like I’ve grown as a future nurse in caring for her patients, but I feel like I’ve grown as a person. I’ve learned things that I didn’t even realise I didn’t know. The presentation by Dominique Coley about diversity and intersections brought out feelings of sadness and empathy that I didn’t know I had. Learning about correct care of an LGBTQ+ patient and about the LGBTQ+ community as a whole opened my eyes to my lack of knowledge on the subject. This meeting had a profound effect on me, so much that I decided to reflect on the idea that something as simple as asking a patient what pronouns they prefer can have such an impact on the quality of their care. Even our most recent meeting about outstanding care of Muslim patients taught me so much about not only the religion itself, but a lot about caring for patients of a variety of religions.

I hope to continue to grow and learn as a future nurse and as a person. I’m beyond thankful to Boston College and to KILN for putting me through this learning and growing experience. For the future, I hope to continue to educate myself and others and to work toward increasing diversity in nursing.

– Therese Villa, ’20

