Spring is award season at Boston College and several KILN scholars have been in the spotlight. We are proud to share the news about these amazing students!

Commencement Awards and Recognition:

  • Kathryn Free (BS ’17): William F. Connell Award, given to the graduating student who demonstrates leadership, loyalty, service, achievement, humility, and goodwill.
  • Hana Chung (BS ’17): Susan E. Donelan award, given to the student who distinguished herself through grace, humor, interpersonal and organizational skills, attention to detail, and dedication.
  • Rachel Lehouillier (MS ’17): Received the degree for her class, an honor bestowed to the student with the highest grade point average.
  • Maureen Regan (MS ’17): Patricia Ibert Scholars award, given to the student who promotes the professional image of nursing and demonstrates leadership, commitment, insight, and caring. Maureen also received recognition for clinical excellence in the Family Nurse Practitioner specialty.
  • Lorena Loci (MS ’17): Dorothy A. Jones award, given to the student who most exemplifies an evolution of thought and personhood, and who has contributed to the development of nursing as a discipline.
  • Sonia Chiamaka Okorie was featured as a “senior to remember” in the Boston College Chronicle . Chiamaka was described as “a leader, a dedicated Connell School of Nursing student, and a source of advice for peers.” A link to the story may be found here.

Certificates for Leadership and Volunteer Services were awarded to BS graduates Lizzy Byrne, Hana Chung, Kathryn Free, Abiola Lawal, Cindy Lee, Chiamaka Okorie, Kesla Silaj, Josh Sogolow, and Jimmy Yang.

Alpha Chi Research and Awards Event and New Member Induction

Alpha Chi, the Boston College chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society for Nursing held its annual research program and awards ceremony on April 26. Graduating seniors Elizabeth Byrne and Kathryn Free were recognized for their contributions to nursing and scholarship. Elizabeth was honored with the Mary Pekarski Memorial Award for “exemplifying excellence in nursing.” Kathryn received the Spirit of Sigma Award for “demonstrating the mission, vision, and values of Sigma Theta Tau.”

EElizabeth Byrne (’17, l) with Margie Sipe, Alpha Chi Awards Committee co-chair
Kathryn Free (’17, r) with Cathy Read, KILN Director









Other KILN scholars presented posters and discussed their research at the Alpha Chi event:

  • Helen Au (’18), with co-authors Cheuklam Lo, Erick Nuestro, and Professor Carina Katigbak, “Culturally bound perceptions of tobacco use and cessation among Chinese Americans.” This poster won second place in the poster competition.
  • Winne Liang (’18), with co-authors Professor Tam Nguyen, Mary Nguyen, Ngan Tran, and Haram Park, “Translating and adopting a community based diabetes prevention intervention for Vietnamese Americans: A focus group study.” This poster won third place in the poster competition.
  • Minhyeung Kim (’18), with co-author Professor Susan Kelly-Weeder, “It’s not binge drinking anymore: High intensity drinking in college students aged 18-21.”
Helen research
Helen Au (l, ’18) with research team

Congratulations to these scholars on their important work!

Minhyeung Kim (’18) discusses her research

On April 23, 2017, Alpha Chi inducted new members in to Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), including KILN scholars Lorena Loci (MS ’17), Kimberly Monestime (MS ’17), Maureen Regan (MS ’17), Yeon Soo (Christine) Kang (BS ’18), Winnie Liang (BS ’18), and Lea Nelligan (BS ’18). Induction into STTI is an honor bestowed upon students who have demonstrated academic excellence and have been recommended by current members. KILN students inducted into STTI in 2016 include Elizabeth Byrne, Kathryn Free, Cindy Lee, and Jimmy Yang.

Boston College Ever to Excel Awards

On April 24, 2017, undergraduate KILN scholars Helen Au (’18) and Joselyn Giron Noriega (’18) received awards from the Boston College Office of Student Involvement. Helen received the Paul Chebator and Mer Zovko award, given to the junior “who embraced the changes embedded in the junior year experience and has been instrumental in creating community in their present environment.”  Joselyn received the St. Alphonsus Rodriguez award, given to the student employee who “went far beyond his or her paid responsibilities by fostering an atmosphere of hospitality, care, and concern, and who modeled student leadership by developing relationships, empowering others, and creating community at the university.” A link to the story may be found here. Congratulations Helen and Joselyn!